Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Celery soup

I found this amazing root of celery in the butchers the other day. It’s nearly as tall as I am. It gladdened my heart because I love celery and Duncan adores the leaves.

So I put the duck legs in the freezer and an eating the fresh veg first.

My favourite recipe is a celery and potato soup. It’s like leek and potato only substituting celery. You may need more potato as the root holds a lot of water.

Ingredients
5 large stalks of celery (reserving the sweet leaves for your hamster)
One large potato
One medium onion 
Chicken or vegetable stock cube 
1 Litre of water
Pepper
Tablespoon of oil
Tablespoon of cream if you have it

Method
Chop the onion and celery stalks roughly and sweat gently in a large pan with the oil. Don't allow the veg to colour.

Chop the potato into 1 cm cubes. Add to the pan together with 1 litre of water, your stock cube and pepper.

Gently simmer until the potato has fallen apart and thickened the soup.

Blitz until smooth then add cream if you have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.