Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Lockdown day 6

We bought these little bird ornaments when we lived in Budapest and I’m sure they were designed by a Hungarian, but I don’t have the name of the designer.  I like the simplicity of their design and I think we gave quite a few as pressies too during our time there.  They usually sit in 3s , on top of our chimney surround in our patio room (= open plan dining/living room, giving on to the patio).  

Dinner tonight by Barrioboy was sausages, baked beans and baked potato.

Balcony clapping at 8pm.

Chatted on WhatsApp with an Egyptian friend in Cairo today. Shops and cafes/restaurants are now closed from 7pm there, starting from today. Shopping centres will be next she said - the sooner the better.  All British Council workers are now working from home and all the teachers have had training to make the shift to doing classes online.  The 5-week course I was going to be working on had to finish after just 3 weeks, just a few days ago, with trainees able to finish the course later.  I saw yesterday that flights aren’t now allowed in or out of Egypt, so am grateful that I’m here. I could so easily have been stuck there and Bb stuck somewhere else.  

Also read today that the FCO is advising all non-resident UK nationals to leave Brazil and return home. Makes me wonder about our usual plans for Christmas and New Year....

The rest of the day doing online tidying up, catching up on emails and chatting with friends who are also in lockdown.

My friend here who's in isolation from having being in contact with someone positive is still fine and her cough from a recent chest infection is reducing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.