Stitching in Place

Dear Diary,

As a dedicated crafter, staying at home during this crisis is not such a huge problem.  I took out a piece I made at an Eco Printing workshop at the Shaker Village a couple of years ago and started to embellish it with embroidery, vintage textiles and grandma's buttons.  The piece is 42" long so it will take some time to complete and time is what I have right now.  In the main picture I've included two other of my craft projects.  One, a felt crow pin cushion which I put on an antique milk glass candle stick and a craft bag sewn from laminated calendar pages.  

I got my mother's old charm bracelets after she died and have wonder what in the world I would do with them.  I've decided to add some of the charms to this wall hanging.  The first one I added was silver praying hands, appropriate for these times I thought.  I've also included three little charms with my grandmother, mother and auntie's initials, three women who shaped my life and gave me my needlework skills.  I've added an extra of the start of the project.  A long way to go of course.  It will hang on the hall side of the new wall Steve is building so I can move my bedroom to the first floor.  Sigh...stitching in place is my new reality I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.