bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Looking back to Blacko Tower

Just a short walk but a wonderful sunset tonight. Feeling warmly melancholy sort of sums up my mood. I lived in the village of Blacko for 2 years ...2008 to 2010...it wasn't an easy time in my life ...but the cottage I rented had the most amazing views from every window. Now I live in a village over the lake and can lok back at it...and the sunsets never disappoint. Blacko Tower is one of those Lancastrian Folleys...not built by any warrior or champion...but a local Grocer...tho they are fast becoming our champions now. I live in a beautiful but completely non touristy part of the world ( long may that be so ) but it was once the land of enormous textile mills...when they disappeared the manufacturing industry took over. My husband used to work in a factory that employed 6500 people...he built aeroplane engines...including Concord. Those daýs have well gone...even car makers and light engineering disappeared....that company that employed 6500 gave notice to it's last 160 employees at Christmas...I've friends amongst them. All work sold abroad by successive and short sighted governments of all colours. We have simply not protected our infrastructure. AND don't even start me on our NHS and Social Care grom which I retired after 35 years service in 2018....And so we look around...and wonder...where are our skilled workers gone...and who will make our Ventilators now???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.