Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Lockdown day 8

Posted on 22 March.

A better day today.

I spent a while on our patio this afternoon, tidying it up and watering everything.  

It was Bb's turn to do the shopping - first time he's been over the door in a week!   He always buys more than me and puts little treats in too, which is nice!  He said it was very strictly controlled and they let just one customer in at a time, handing out plastic gloves, as well as insisting you use the gel provided.  He reckoned there were only about 15 people in the supermarket and it's a big one.  The staff at the cash desks now are all behind plastic screens - that's new from when I was last there.  The only thing he didn't manage to get was toilet rolls (and eggs, which he forgot, but we still have 10) and those were for our neighbour who said she didn't get any yesterday.  We have enough, so we'll leave a few for them over our shared patio wall.  Her husband is a nurse in one of the big hospitals here, works night shifts, and she says he always comes home looking worried at the moment.  I digress.  He even managed to get kitchen roll and our usual brand of sanitising kitchen spray today.  He said it was all very civilised and nothing like the photos we've seen in the press of other countries. 

Dinner was the same as last Saturday: a cheese board, Spanish ham, grapes and we added some duck pate and slices of mango.  All with some nice bread and red wine.  

I'm trying not to check the news all the time, not to be on my laptop or iPad all the time, not to worry about our drastically reduced joint income and tell myself that I'll be able to do this teaching online malarkey.  I've learnt new things before and I'm now a week behind many friends who work for schools and they've had to make a very clunky and fast transition.  I'll learn from their experiences.  I've picked up my book again - A Gentleman in Moscow (albeit the kindle version, so am reading on my iPad) and am going to dust off my hula hoop, skipping ropes and elastic bands this coming week!  It will soon be warm enough to use them on the terrace. 

Here's Bb laden with our shopping.  I asked him to text me when he was approaching so that I could get my blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.