2+3+1+1

By tpd

good/bad

I'm a BSL and ACSL; how this happened I'm not quite sure.

When I was younger I was a cub then a scout; at that time scouts was a pretty rough affair with more than it's fair share of bullying and wild behaviour; looking back it's pretty amazing no-one was more seriously hurt. Dodgy primus stoves spraying paraffin all over the place, people cutting themselves with knives (can you even legally carry a normal sized pen knife if you're under 16?) and not forgetting the staple of all scout troops: British Bulldog.

Fast forward 25 years, I am now a leader for Beavers and Cubs and I really enjoy it. I started with Beavers as +1/3 was a Beaver and there was a shortage of leaders and it's not stopped. That's the good.

Tuesday is Beavers and Cubs night; after the Cubs had gone my co-conspirator filled me in on what had happened at the district meeting. It turns out that one of the leaders is seriously, seriously ill and the prognosis isn't good. Very bad. She is a real force in P&K scouting and has that no-nonsense attitude that is becoming less common but that is so necessary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.