Hitchhiking from Saginaw

Well an obscure title and a strange image. How has this become my Blip for the day?

We have started our third week in isolation and my project for the day was to sort out my archive ( junk according to my wife ) and see if there was anything I could throw out.

It was a great trip down memory lane and I uncovered some absolute treasures. The Blip is of two number plates I found by the side of roads whilst hitch-hiking in Pennsylvania in 1972 ( queue grandchildren “ you must be so old Grandpa ). It was my first of many visits to the US and reminded me of the music I was mad on in the 60’s - The Beach Boys, Jan and Dean, Lovin Spoonful and the Byrds spring to mind. You will have to work out the other artists from the title - answer tomorrow. Always wanted to go to California and Hawaii and made it there eventually.

Junk in deed. I even had a receipt for my Wife’s engagement ring ( a constant reminder of what a cheapskate I was ) and the  bill from the hotel where we had our honeymoon. Amazingly we now live less than a mile from the hotel.

Lots of things sorted out into order and for further discovery whilst we are in lockdown.

My only advice whilst you find yourself in lock down is to keep busy. The time for projects, reflection and looking forward. We are trying to avoid much of the news. Keep safe and keep blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.