Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Lockdown Day 6: It’s life, Jim ...

... but not as we know it.

Actually Spock never said that, it was a later misattribution. But it rings true.  

Anyway I got my bike back from Halfords, all serviced and shiny and it rode very well. I was bloody freezing mind, there were lumps of ice in the air today and the temperature must have been five or six degrees lower than yesterday. 

Had a wonderful long video chat with big bro and big sis later. They are both in their seventies so I ribbed them by saying I was following government advice and checking up on the elderly. 

We started doing a jigsaw puzzle today and it began driving us predictably mad within a couple of hours. Colourful ‘though.

After less than a week people are beginning to realise that this is going to be a long haul. The biggest impact of this pandemic will in my view be to create a condition of permanent anxiety and a fragile state of mental health. No-one can assume this won’t happen again, maybe next year or later this decade or ... 

Maybe we will end up wearing shiny hazmat suits and weird helmets like they predicted in those 1950s sci-fi programmes.

Lockdown Day 6.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.