Persian saffron

A good first night; quiet apart from cats, and someone’s 4am ablutions! More unpacking. And it’s a holiday here too, Israa wa Miraj which is connected to Ramadan.
I went for a walk in the afternoon, with rain clouds looming. I needed to change money and try to get a local SIM card. Some exchange dealers weren’t fair, but found one. No ID card, no SIM card unfortunately.
And a very lovely experience in the Iranian sweet and nut shop to finish my little expedition. Of course, I realised after, no one will go to an Iranian shop given that’s how it started here. It truly was an incredibly well stocked shop ad I’m sure I tasted a quarter of his stock. Big tables of nuts, pulses and dried fruit. Big stands of chocolates and sweets, shelves of sweet cardamom infused biscuits. A shelf of saffron. And the tired, gaunt owner was so happy to explain it all and shove morsel after morsel into my hand. I bought lots of mini dark chocolates and dried fruit and nuts. I was given a tin of biscuits and some nougat and nut pieces. Humbled, spoiled, overwhelmed and sad his business is suffering so much. I’ll be back!

Lots of thunder and lightning tonight. Real weather! Work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.