Rice pudding

Today's the day …………………………. for an unintended consequence

This is the rice pudding that I made today - something that I probably haven't done for a good thirty years or more.  It came about because there is quite a lot of milk in our fridge just now and I thought that would be a good way to use some up. 

The reason why we have lots of milk is that a few weeks ago, when milk was one of the things that was quite hard to find in a supermarket, we discovered that we had a local dairy who were very willing to deliver milk, three times a week.  This seemed like a brilliant idea (and they were very enthusiastic and friendly people) so we signed up with them.  I think I got a bit carried away with how much milk we would need, so I over-ordered at the start - and we temporarily have too much.

But making the rice pudding brought back lots of memories - especially as I made it in a casserole dish that belonged to my Mother.  She used to make it for my Dad - who loved it.  

And actually, so does Will - so this unintended consequence of Covid-19 is going to bring some unexpected pleasure at supper time ………………….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.