WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Foraged

Dandelion salad. It's delicious with chopped lemon balm, some grated Koko dairy free cheddar and topped with ground linseed. (Dandelion leaves are best soaked in warm water for a few minutes then rinsed in cold ;-)

We spent most of the day in the garden which cheered me up no end. Frank finished the path and I got all the onion sets planted. I think we'll have enough to feed Haw Grove!
The neighbours were out too so there was a good bit of banter going on - obviously at a distance!
The books I ordered arrived today, as did Frank's beer that he ordered from Amazon with the gift card Sabrina and John gave him for his birthday last week - Hawkshead Brewery beer.
I have a routine now for anything coming into the house - I carry it through to the kitchen and remove all packaging on the floor then put it in the outside bin. I then spray everything or if it's washable put it in the sink and wash it with soap and hot water. Then I wash my hands and the scissors and spray the front door knocker and letterbox with dettol spray. What a palava! It makes me feel better though ;-)

I ordered quite a bit from The Grape Tree on line. Mainly store cupboard things for baking, snacks and some veggie stock powder. It mounted up but it works out cheaper in the long run than getting small amounts from other shops. I'll be able to make my favourite date and walnut scones and another bakewell tart :-b
Our neighbours got us some olive spread today so I can bake tomorrow. A friend from Dumfries also sent me a recipe for Rhubard Muffins which I'll be able try out now.

It's only 7.30 pm and I'm struggling to keep my eyes open. Frank has just started a jigsaw so maybe I'll join him for a while. If I watch telly or read I think I'll nod off!

Hope you're all having a good weekend. Stay safe ;-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.