WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Tessera Heart

I have lots of hearts around the house but I've had this one the longest.
It is a micro mosaic - Tessera - Victorian piece of jewellery. This type of jewellery was made in Italy and tourists used to buy them as gifts. It used to have 3 mosaic tear shaped drops but one broke off so I took the other 2 off but still have them somewhere.
I have had this for nearly 60 years.
When I was a little girl in Ellesmere Port, most girls at school had a box or tin of beads - often a tobacco tin - and at playtime or after school we would swap treasures with each other. We also used go round knocking on doors and asking for odd bits jewellery and we'd take necklaces to bits just for the beads and 'diamonds'.
We would look at each others collections and offer swapsies.
One day I saw this pretty heart and asked the other girl if she would swap for something of mine. I can't remember what she chose of mine but I know I got the better deal!
Such pieces aren't really worth much but it's worth a lot to me in childhood memories.

I have cut out masks to sew. There is mixed advice about this.
On the daily Covid19 update today someone asked if we should be wearing them because other countries are advising their citizens to.
We're not going anywhere among people so don't actually need them just now, but that could change - as their advice does everyday! Anyway, I thought I would be prepared and it will keep me occupied for a while when I sew them tomorrow.
Here's the link in case anyone wants to make one. There are simpler ones on youtube but this one is designed by hospital staff. https://youtu.be/ZnVk12sFRkY

Today we got more groceries delivered from the village shop and when I opened the door there was a doggie treat on top of the bag for our Bella. How nice is that!

Frank has nearly got the path finished in the garden so hopefully tomorrow I can get out there and plant things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.