Dad in the Sunday Excess

As promised, the clipping I found about the farm fire when Dad dragged a man from the burning building. They spelled his name wrongly. It should be Elliot Sherriff. It’s interesting to see what also made the front page in 1962.

We were due for sun today but it is cold and cloudy which is a disappointment.

I’ve got sidetracked with the memoirs. I had a summer job in Sussex aged 17, cooking and cleaning for a couple in Sussex. I found my diary of the time there. Fascinating in what I had forgotten, and what I had mis-remembered. I’ve been googling the Brigadier and found he had a distinguished career getting an MC in WW1 and had a govt job in Abyssinia, Sudan, Libya thereafter. He was a kind soul but his wife seemed to be a bit of a battle axe. I was cooking for house parties of up to 16 at the weekends, and helping her clean. I’m not surprised none of the cleaners she got in to help every stayed. I got told off as there was dust under the piano one day. I’d written that a girl she had got in to help didn’t come back. Her dad had come round and said she wasn’t going to work for less than 2/- an hour!

So by the time I read all that and transcribed some of it, I’ve only got to 1964.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.