Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

The beginning of the end

For the last 3 weeks, I have been adapting to working from home. Whilst I know that I'm in it for the long haul, I have also been grasping to the idea that maybe I'm not. Maybe tomorrow this will all be over and I'll be allowed back to work. Crazy I know, but it was helping me adapt.

But today I have to hand my work keys back. My new colleague who's health doesn't stop her being allowed in the hospital needs them. It makes complete sense, she's there, I'm not, I'm not using them. They're just keys right? Yeah, physically they're just keys, but symbolically they're so much more than that. They're my last physical connection to my old role and everything doing it meant.

I know when I go back that role won't be there, it will be changed, the whole way our service works will be changed and I'll be starting a new job that just feels a little like the one I'd done for over 6 years. Doesn't make it any easier though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.