Bompa

By Bompa

Mourning doves

Early this morning I noticed an unusual amount of calls from mourning doves as I walked around the neighbourhood. After I arrived home I began to hear these birds close to our home. One flew into our yard, probably having spied the bird feeders. I missed the opportunity to capture a photo. I hope they come back. I managed to capture this shot later on as I walked throught the neighbourhood.

The sound of mourning doves brings back memories of visits to my grandparents in Manitoba when I was a child so many years ago. I woke up to the sounds of mourning doves, birds I had never heard before. It is a mournful sound but also a peaceful one. In a way I equated it with the comfort I felt being with my grandparents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.