A journey

I mentioned recently https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2690687148050350965                                that I was planning a major expedition and I decided that today was the day. The conditions were right, the moon and stars were aligned and I awoke to the perfect day for it. Not wanting to leave my affairs undone, I defrosted the fridge (which seemed to take the best part of the day) and cleaned the kitchen floor. I made the necessary calls and sent some last messages. Then I packed my bag with the provisions I had planned and the equipment that I would need. I was ready to go. I left my neighbours ripping shreds out of each other on this glorious day (I’m so glad that the current crisis has enabled them to reassess their priorities) and was on my way.

I set off on a very long flight, across many time zones and into another world. I crossed through a portal in a wall and set off. At first there was a faint path to follow but I was wary I could see in the distance strange beasts; huge and friskily fearsome with great patches of black and white. They snorted and bellowed and, with my heart racing I tried to nonchalantly pass on my way but they smelt my fear and came stampeding towards me. I escaped through a gate and into a vast spindly vibrant green forest of branches waving me onward towards a bridge. It bounced as I crossed quickly not wanting to be seen by any natives but as I reached the other side there was one heading towards me. He seemed friendly enough but cautious ... we passed each other at a safe distance (about 2 metres would be my guess). I don’t know what language he spoke but we both smiled. After that I followed the river along to where I had studied ancient long forgotten maps. It was fast flowing and there were rapids but I found what looked to be an ancient crossing place. I sat and took stock. This was it. Uncharted territory. Shall I go on or head back?

I changed into my fording turbulent water gear and entered the current not knowing if I might be swept downstream and lost for good. It was hard going but I negotiated the crossing and suddenly I was on new land, unexplored territory... a new and uncertain world. I hacked my way through the undergrowth not knowing what creatures might be underfoot. This great understory was thick and pungent, full of unfettered flowering’s of whites and yellows. I stopped to gather some that looked like they might make a promising supper, if I survived. I came to a clearing and then, even more turbulent water. There were lands on the other side that I couldn’t reach. I saw the thrones of the king and queen (extra). I’d heard of them from the old sagas that have been passed down. There was no sign of them. Probably having their tea. I beat a furtive retreat, back the way I came. I sat and dried off and sustained myself with a bit of grog and some smoked fish rations on biscuits and wondered on the world I had just slid through.

As I headed back I spotted fast flying black and white aeronauts with forked wings. Such acrobats I hadn’t seen since the old times and then, quite unexpectedly, I found myself in a surprisingly fragrant dream of an emerging blue haze.

(With eternal thanks to Richard Feynman ...’what we need is imagination.’)

from The Ship of Death - D.H.Lawrence

Build then the ship of death, for you must take
the longest journey, to oblivion.

And die the death, the long and painful death
that lies between the old self and the new.

Already our bodies are fallen, bruised, badly bruised,
already our souls are oozing through the exit
of the cruel bruise.

Already the dark and endless ocean of the end
is washing in through the breaches of our wounds,
already the flood is upon us.

Oh build your ship of death, your little ark
and furnish it with food, with little cakes, and wine
for the dark flight down oblivion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.