CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Success!

A beautiful warm, sunny day

I had an intense Listening call in the morning but I think the man found it helpful.

In the afternoon, I decided it was time to attempt to bake gluten free scones. I had successfully made ordinary scones before, but never gluten free.

The joys of Google turned up a BBC Good Food recipe. I knew that I was going to have to use rice flour, xanthum, gum and a raising agent. However, I blinked when I saw that, after cutting them, they needed to be in the fridge for 30 minutes and, after covering with egg yolk, they had to go in the freezer for 15 minutes before finally baking them for 15 minutes.

As you can see, they turned out successfully, and the first two (one for my wife) tasted delicious while they were still warm.

My wife has had many a scone in a café which has crumbled apart, but I was pleased that mine stayed firm. The secret clearly is in the freezing - well done the BBC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.