WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Self Sufficiency

I made my 2nd lot of vegan butter today. They don't have any Flora or such like at the village shop, only butter. So I found a recipe a couple of weeks ago and it is so easy! It also tastes delicious. It's a long time since I ate cow butter but from memory I think this tastes quite similar. Here's the recipe. I also added 1 heaped tsp of lecithin as this was in some other recipes I looked at. I bought the refined coconut oil and soya lecithin on Ebay from LiveMoor. I used cold pressed rapeseed oil from Aldi as it has a nice flavour. The Engevita is in most supermarkets now, or The Grape Tree and Holland + Barrett.

https://lovingitvegan.com/homemade-vegan-butter/

I also made 2 massive sweet shop jars of granola. I'm looking forward to breakfast tomorrow!

Pottered a bit in the garden. Planted out Kale and Kohl Rabi.
Gave Chris next door but one a tomato plant as I have enough and hers haven't come up yet.

I washed the boat curtains that Frank brought back here yesterday. I had edged the bedroom curtains with a pretty red cotton lace trim but in the winter we left a window open by mistake when it was stormy and the rain got in making the red run onto the off white fabric. I've been unpicking all afternoon to remove the lace and I will buy some of a better quality to sew on.

After tea I went for my daily exercise with Bella May. We were the only ones out! I have to say I get a bit panicky when I see other humans coming towards me!
Bella is so funny when we go up the track. She goes into hunting mode and creeps up then pounces on big clumps of grass. I've never seen any sign of anything moving but she must think there's a creature in there.

I managed to get an online delivery slot at Morrison's not until May 1st but that's OK.


9.30 pm - Bed and book time.
Goodnight - stay safe ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.