Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More of the same (Day 34)

Apart from taking Archie round the block this morning, and doing my bike, I have only moved from the sofa to go to the fridge and the toilet. I have wandered over to the windows now and again to look out at the sunshine, but there is a cold wind direct from Siberia! Our front hedge could not even keep it out.

While I was out with Archie, I popped into the shop to get some bread and milk. And oh look! They have Lindt Easter Bunnies - they didn’t have them at all before Easter. Maybe they’ve stocked up for the Orthodox Christians’ Easter, I heard on the radio is this weekend. Not that I heard they’ve stocked up on Easter Bunnies - just the different date due to using a different calendar. They also have a different day each year for Christmas.

JR has been busy all day, washing and sorting out jumpers, scarves and hats, even labelling storage boxes. And oiling the kitchen benches and cabinet. Then she went for her run. She tires me out!

Elizabeth came for Archie, so he was out all afternoon and blissfully happy. Elizabeth brought us all treats - she always brings Archie doggie treats - but she brought us Walnut Whips! I haven’t had one of them for years, and it really was a treat.

I was delighted to find, on the BBC Sounds app, a ‘Flight of the Conchords’ series from 2005. They’re my third favourite Kiwi comedy music duo. It was set in London and was their signature brand of music and silliness. I listened to all six episodes - three hours worth! These lockdown days just fly by!

I’ll try harder tomorrow.

Photo by Elizabeth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.