Psalmist with a camera

By jellyfox

Back to School

Today I took on a class at my old school and did a day's supply teaching which kept me fully amused and on my toes for the entire 7 hour duration!!

You tend to forget how many arms and legs each 1st grader has in addition to what is considered 'normal.' They are everywhere at once and faster than greased lightning when it comes to snack and lunch times!

But they also have that wonderful innocence that asks the questions no-one else dares to even consider appropriate!! The ambiguity of their creative writing would keep a stand up comic in scripts for life and never ever ask a 1st grader their opinion on anything whatsoever unless you are completely unshockable and can keep a straight face while they expound!

Joyce Grenfell......eat your heart out!!! I wonder what she would make of todays' little treasures!!

Not my preferred grade....but all have their plus points.....thats one of the joys of supply teaching....you never know who your target base is until that call comes!

Today grade 1, next supply, grade 9 or grade 6, KG or grade 10. Having experienced teaching at all levels in my work as an Advisor, I'm comfortable anywhere I'm placed. Just need to remember to put on those magic hats and in the words of Julie Andrews,

"Let them bring on all their problems
I'll do better than my best
I have confidence they'll put me to the test
But I'll let them see,".............

They'll have met their match in me!!!!!!

Its been great day of fun, laughter and catching up with colleagues again. I'm more than happy to be on the supply side with all the variety and challenges it affords. Very much looking forward to the next session!!

Happy Blipping Everyone!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.