VE75

Today the nation celebrates WWII’s Victory In Europe with a Bank Holiday and online virtual celebrations.
Followers of my Blip will know that Remembrance plays an important part of my life. I am of a certain age, and that age means I have been fortunate to know, and be part of six generations of my family’s lives and those lives have encompassed all military conflicts from S Africa in 1902 up to the present day. Our family has contributed to all three Armed Services and the Merchant Navy on N Atlantic convoys and our son Joshua represents a continuation of that service which now spans eight generations.
Of course my family is not unique and all Remembrance is an individual experience and emotion.
The sun shone, we kept our distance, we remembered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.