Not So Much A Bucket List Item

I never thought I’d go on a demo, I’m not sure today’s, with only three participants in Falmouth counts either. The three of us were a small part of the countrywide ‘Justice For Northern Ireland Veterans’ campaign held across Britain today.
Despite the wind and rain we had a steady stream of interested people until we packed in mid afternoon and made our way to a bar for a beer or three.
The Windproof of which I Blipped yesterday kept me dry and snug, even when sitting at a table in a wet windswept Events Square supping Shipyard IPA.
Before the ‘demo’ I had been to the War Memorial in Kimberley Park to lay a Poppy Cross in Remembrance of VE Day, seventy-six years ago today. Or the fanfare of last years 75th but you don’t let the day pass unnoticed whatever the Covid state.

Once I’d had my beers it was home for some live rugby on TV and cheeseburgers for dinner. It almost felt like a normal Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.