Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Lockdown Day 49: Sensory deprivation

I went out with a face mask on today. My first time. As it covered both my mouth and my nose, and as I have an eyepatch and this photograph makes it look as if I have only one ear, I think we can safely say that on the basis of this shot I’m not in full control of my senses.

It was an interesting and somewhat surreal experience. I haven’t been in the local town centre in several weeks and although there were a few people around getting the essentials it was pretty much deserted. The most ghostly section was a long and completely shuttered covered market. They were still playing shoppers mood music, but not the usual cheery sort; more like something from a dodgy science fiction film from the1960s. I half expected Barbarella to come floating up towards me.

TSM insisted on queuing for my prescription for half an hour but the queue was orderly and well managed. She had insisted that she didn’t want me exposed to any risk despite already having had a busy day working on her day off and going up to collect an office chair for me now that I am working from home again. And she went shopping for a few essentials and did some cleaning as well so not much of a day off.

For my part I cooked up a lot of food near its use by date, cleaned up the front of house after the foxes had trashed our food bins, did some cleaning and watered the garden (by watering can as we don’t have a functioning hose these days). 

Some discussion about the lockdown seven week itch on line today and how it manifests itself. This from one newspaper: "Lockdown isn’t all baking, lunchtime sex and Zoom parties. For many people, it’s a scary experience that sees emotions go haywire. This is perfectly normal – our routines have been stripped away and we are worried for our ourselves and those we love. To make matters worse, many of us are stuck in small spaces; some alone and as a result feeling lonely, and some with housemates, partners or our children, all of whom just won’t leave us be." 

Not sure if that helps or not.

Started taking iron tablets for my anaemia today. Hope that makes a difference. At the moment I’m usually too tired to get angry ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.