Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Orient Ray II

Still working my way around the watch boxes. Here is another automatic (i.e. mechanical) dive watch. It IS rated to 200 metres but not ISO certified. It does feature a highly regarded in-house hacking/hand winding movement and the indices glow fetchingly in dark conditions. It is not perhaps as rugged or purpose designed as (say) the SKX but it IS very refined, beautifully finished and elegantly matches my blue casual jackets and sweaters.

Orient is perhaps the third of the big three Japanese watch brands after  Seiko and Citizen. This time I am not a dodgy developer (such as I was with the gold tone Invicta). Rather, I am a poor man's James Bond given that the Ray II is a similar colour and style to an Omega 300m Professional such as worn by the Pierce Brosnan Bond, back in the day. I see it now … snazzy suit, steely eyes, Beretta 418 pistol pointed skyward, scantily clad temptress hanging off my shoulder, standing in front of a shiny silver DB5. Umm …. come to think of it … I really ought to wear this watch more often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.