Sunseeker

By Sunseeker

Pink something

Having seen this plant flowering in the Peloponnese one May a few years ago, I finally managed to acquire one with some difficulty about a year later. No one seemed to know what it was called, not even the plant shops that were selling it.  It dies off completely in the winter but seems to seed itself and pop up again year after year, as long I'm not too tidy (no fear of that!) This is the first one that's flowered on my Athens balcony - hopefully there are more doing their stuff in Evia - I'll find out next week.

We now have an official heatwave in Greece with temperatures at full summer levels, into the upper 30's, in some places up to 40. Too hot for much walking during the day, so I headed for the beach and had a really good long swim. The beach was pretty packed but I managed to find a  quiet bit. Tomorrow, because of the heatwave, they are opening up the organised beaches ahead of schedule (with special new distancing rules on sunshades and sunbeds) so that the non-organised beaches don't get too packed this weekend. It will be incredibly busy at all the beaches around Athens and on the roads, though, so I will definitely not be joining the weekend crowds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.