a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Little Albion Street, Surry Hills

I took nigh on 300 photos today during a site inspection for work. And they're all mind-blowingly dull - details of parapets, changes in brickwork, goods lifts, modified window openings, industrial roller doors, lintels, awnings, you name it. Rising damp. Falling damp. Penetrating damp.

The only item with any appeal was a modified, dingy greyish art deco building that reminded me somewhat of Snuffalufagus from Sesame Street, but I just couldn't make it work as a blip. And I left the office shattered, too late to go a-hunting for something of interest.

So in lieu of any other option, I bring you a view looking down Little Albion Street (formerly part of the Frog Hollow inner city slums and redeveloped in the early 1900s).

In much the same way that Athena sprang, fully formed, from Zeus' forehead,
today's earwormleapt into my brain as I woke from a particularly detailed (and boring) dream, during which my mind had helpfully and creatively supplied the answers to all of the unsolved questions I have about the building I am currently researching: unsolved pieces of the puzzle which have been driving me crazy. The earworm, much to my disgust, stayed with me all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.