JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Ultimate Christmas Destination

I wished someone a happy new year today. There's no official cultural cut-off date for this greeting - I guess it should be January 1 in one sense, but maybe January 31 is the most sensible. Just made it.

Same with Christmas. I've known some take tree and decorations down on January 1, while maybe most stick with Epiphany (Three Kings Day) as culmination of 12 days of Christmas. Even today, I heard of a house locally with tree still up. Maybe that's a bit much.

As is the poster on my train home for the 'Santa on real snow' for the Braehead Arena near Glasgow. While it may still be running - bit daft if it is - the ads should probably come down. I've always thought that if seasonal ads are still running way after the date that it doesn't reflect well on the advertiser or the media (has the media nothing better to place?). Nothing serious reflected as such - just best it's taken down and replaced in good time.

Happy new year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.