Chiara

By Chiara

Donk

This morning, I opened my front door and was very disheartened to see this package waiting on the front doorstep. Almost two months ago, Laura & Kyle helped me make Valentines for an American troop in Iraq. I addressed the package to Joshua and sent it out, not having the slightest clue that he would be killed 6 days later. Apparently, the package arrived at Josh's base camp after he died. They forwarded it to his house in Texas, and, for some reason, it got rerouted back to me. I opened it up and was sad to see that none of the Valentines saw the light of the day since they left my house on February 3rd. Some of the candy bags and boxes had bust open due to being handled roughly for two months around the world, and as a result the exposed chocolate and sugar got moldy from the humidity during its stay in Iraq (I presume). Oh, well. At least we tried to do something nice for our 3rd Brigade Combat Team.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.