Struggling

I am struggling unlike this saxifrage which is clearly thriving.

I am in difficulty. Not mentally. Not physically, though the combination of grass and hedge cutting and path-cleaning has taken a slight toll today.

Rather it is in trying to comprehend the Prime Minister’s decision to back his adviser, coupled with the comment that the vast majority of people will understand. (I paraphrase
as I do not have the precise quote but that’s what I recall from the 10 o’clock news).

This is different to a degree from Catherine Calderwood and Prof Neil Fergusson as they were publicly promoting messages advocating stay at home. And they took the correct public service decision – or were encouraged or told to take the decision – to resign.

But the degree of difference between them and the chief adviser and craftsman of strategy and communication for the Prime Minister is marginal. He may not comment and promote the message in public but he is intertwined with the PM’s government and their messaging.

The strategy which matters to them is Brexit and the repositioning of the UK in the world. Dominic Cummings is central to that and a key driver. Brexit – which I continue to abhor for a whole number of reasons – is happening and I accept (I have to accept) that the UK voted to leave. While I would wish Scotland to be able to follow a different path that is not open to us currently. The prospects of us being able to influence that path, despite best efforts, seem low given the determination of the UK government to press ahead and mouth statements which over time unravel (borders controls in the Irish Sea for example).

We are where we are on Brexit through clever tapping in to frustrations, simple optimistic statements about the future and the promotion of a “we are better on our own” mentality. The need for people from across the world to help support the NHS, our care homes, our farmers, and our services shows that we are not better on our own in isolation. We have to be part of a wider community.

And that is where I am struggling with the PM’s decision. Covid-19 has shown the strength of communities coming together to support each other. Every night we get the”uplifting” item at the end of the news: less frequently do we get the nasty news. But overall communities have come together. And the government will have to rely on these communities in the months and possibly years ahead. Both for Covid-19 and in their plans for Brexit.

I know I am privileged in where and how I live. I know that friends and neighbours come from a certain milieu. I know that my Twitter and Facebook feeds tend to echo back my sentiments and beliefs. But even in Brexit there were differing views. On this Dominic Cummings incident, everyone (other than some Cabinet members) is appalled at his behaviour and cannot see how he can continue. Why not rely on friends and neighbours?. Draw on the local support hubs set up to assist? Why not do what millions of families across the UK have done and knuckle down?

To hear the PM say that people will understand shows a disconnect from reality. Now, I may be proved wrong as I was on Brexit. But in this case each individual, each family has had to face up to the challenge and has had to take difficult personal decisions. They have done what is needed and complied. For many their employment and livelihood is at risk. The government has done well to put in place support measures but they are dependent on the virus being controlled and the economy firing up again. If individuals see that interpretation of the guidance can be that flexible as is now being accepted by the PM, is there not a serious risk that the phased unfurling of the restrictions will collapse?

So I am struggling. The only rationale I can come to is that the Brexit agenda is more important than Covid-19 and that without Dominic Cummings PM is not confident he can deliver. But will the communities a) support and b) believe what is said in future?

Saxifrage means “rock” break”. Have we just begun to see some fractures appearing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.