A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Best laid plans

Turns out, I didn't teach, grade or give a paper today. I woke up sick, unable to look at a screen, and had to do what I had never done before: cancel a class. I suppose there's a first for everything, but I was so proud of my track record (over the years, taught many times with pneumonias. Turns out that teaching without breathing properly is easier than with a massive headache/migraine). So I cancelled everything, and just laid on the couch. The sky was doing crazy things, with wind gusts up to 80-90km, it kept hesitating between gray and blue and finally settled for a sort of freakish snow. Lea observed it all. As for me, I kept the day away from screens of any kinds, and books. Kinda boring. (But when I started feeling better, the sun was down, and a downton abbey marathon was the program.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.