Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Lockdown Day 64: the journey continues

Despite spending eight hours at my home office desk, I did manage to finish at 4.30, so as I write I have had five and a half hours in the garden. Yes, we are still sitting here after 10 o’clock at night, the last glimmer of the day having disappeared but a warmth still in the air and not a breeze to be felt. At one point today it was 39°C in the conservatory. 

Tonight’s Hay programme was Eric Ngalle Charles, who is almost impossible to describe. A Cameroonian living in Wales, he had a remarkable journey from his home country to the valleys via Russia where he had to live amongst refugees and criminals, surviving hand to mouth having been duped by international human traffickers as a naive seventeen year old. Totally absorbing.

Another day of the Cummings debacle. The government of Boris Johnson has sunk into negative moral equity. I thought he was a terrible politician last year in the way he engineered the prorogation of parliament but in some ways this is worse; he has infected his cabinet with dishonourable behaviour just as surely as he did by stupidly and arrogantly contracting coronavirus. I have seldom been so angry, not just at Johnson but also at those who defend him and feel he is in some way worthy of office.

Did some more garden maintenance tonight. It’s beautiful out here and far away from such idiocy...give me a garden, a good book and a sunny day and I will survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.