Allotment visit

An early start at the allotment to get a bit of watering done before everyone else arrived.  I also did some weeding and planted out a few more bits and some seeds; with the sun so strong I am not sure how the seeds will do, but it is good to try.
 
I take a cup of coffee in my flask cup and sit on stump to have a rest and look around.  The bees and bugs are busy on all the plants.  The birds sometimes come past to see if any worms has been exposed, often in the distance a buzzard can be seen over the field.  It is so wonderful to stop and sit and enjoy it all.  I have always liked my allotment, it is not the most organised and I am rubbish at planting in rows, but this year it has been so wonderful to be able to go there and enjoy nature and grow our own food.
 
Each year I say I am going to be more organised and then a foxglove pops up somewhere and I know the bees will love it so I leave it.  I plant in patches in the gaps were nothing else is growing and just let things get on.  The lack of rows means the weeding often has to be done by hand other than the amount of time it takes, I do quite enjoy pulling them out and seeing my little plants being happy in their own space.
Last year I ended up with so many lettuce and courgettes I could not give them away.  I suspect this year will be the same, but I plan to pick the courgettes while they are small!
 
Back home I had a clean around and we have a BBQ in the garden, it is bliss not to have to do the cooking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.