madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Idyllic - ish!

As I was leaving to walk Oscar I heard and noticed water dripping off my roof - odd as there was and had been no recent rain. Turns out it was coming from an overflow pipe. I went upstairs and checked the toilet - not that but the immersion heaters overflow pipe! I tried lifting of the lid to push the ballcock but without a ladder there was no way to do either so I gave up, turned off the water supply to the entire house  and left to walk Oscar. 
It was a bit of a tortuous walk today as for the last week or so along with the stomach pains I have done something to my knee! I have fallen and tripped and slipped in the woods and on the allotment a fair few times recently so whether it's that or the osteoporosis or menopause I have no idea! But it hurts! It's ok-ish  as I am walking but when I stop oh dear! Coming down through the woods I heard a loud crack and looked up to see a huge branch falling off a tree and crashing into the stream! I have never witnessed this before - if I hadn't would it have made such a noise?!!
 With my knee hurting, the worry over the immersion tank, no word from my electricain  and the never ending bad / tragic news I was not feeling a happy bunny nor chicken by the time I got home despite the lovely walk. So instead of doing some little tasks round the house I snuggled on the sofa and slept instead! 
On my evening walk I bumped into The Potter to whom I had given details of a plumber earlier in the week. I joked that she had jinxed me and that I may now need his services. She said her husband would take a look as he owed me for all the sourdough I've been giving him! That put me in a better mood!
This  view is from a house on the bend of the river  whose pretty entrance is in the extra.It was built by Lord Ashburton in 1856 and 4 years later became a hotel which it continued to be until 1999 when my ex -boyfriend sold it as he had split from his wife who was the chef! I found a wonderful old postcard online of how it looked all those years ago - the land above it is now all woods and is where Nelly Of the Woods lives! Her house is hidden behind the hotel! I've just done a search of old postcards of Calstock and have found several fascinating ones which I intend to buy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.