As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

@TaghSciOly

WE'RE GOING TO STATES!!!

Adam came by to pick me up a little before 7:00. We stopped and got bagels before heading to Kellenberg. We got there and help set up the posters and such in the hallway before people left for their events. I didn't have an event until 10:30, so I studied, decorated, and ate a lot of candy. Lindsey and I took the Astronomy test together at 10:30. We thought we did terribly, but WE GOT 10TH PLACE!!!! Considering how there were 74 teams there and we have one of the most competitive regions in the country, I'm overjoyed. Wantagh has a bad history with Astronomy, and I hope that we're moving towards breaking that streak. I went straight from Astronomy to Dynamic Planet with Sophia. I can't express my gratitude for Sophia enough; she really worked hard for this event, and together we came in SECOND PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE MEDALED!!!!!!!!!!!!! We worked hard for that event and I couldn't be happier. I had lunch with Avery, Lindsey, Hailey, Sam, and Danielle and we got a visit from Cahill mid-meal. I rushed from lunch back to the room to meet Alyssa for Triple E. We thought we did really well, like medaling well, but 17th isn't the end of the world. Kyle and Blake (but mostly Kyle) kicked that tests' butt and got 8th! We spent the afternoon cleaning up and freaking out while waiting for the awards ceremony. Special shout-out to Colleen and Jenny for baking over 200 cupcakes, handing out candy, and being extremely spirited all day! A bunch of kids from our teams medaled, and they should be proud of all of the work they put into these events! The final announcement of the teams going to States was torturous. We ended up in 9th overall, but the 7th overall school because 2 schools had an A and a B team in the top 8. We screamed so loudly. Just look at last years' blip if you're confused.

We headed home for a minute before going to Applebee's for dinner. We waited over an hour for a table for 20, and I laid across Isabella's, Belinda's, and Jake's laps for most of it. We finally decided to leave and try the diner. We enjoyed a great team meal together; I couldn't ask for a better team to have spent the last 17 hours with, plus last night, and all of the countless hours we spent preparing for this day.

Overjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.