stuartjross

By stuartjross

Caley

Don't try this at home. Honestly, we really do not encourage this high jump nonsense with Caley. Despite his ability to hurdle anything in his way he strangely respects all fences to the extent that we can approach a gate with two foot fences at either side and he will not advance until the gate is opened. This corner of our garden fence is the exception and even then he will jump it only when he knows for sure that is where we are going. Bruce always needs a back breaking lift over.

It was a black sky day. Dark, rainy and feeling raw in the wind too. I had a few dog related blip options from our walk up behind The Knoll and I used the rather dim looking images as Photoshop layer type exercises. I have often said I fumble about in PS. My fumbling about was with the magnetic lasso today. I know what I want to do but no matter how I tweak the settings I can't get it to work the way I want. I suspect I am simply expecting too much from this older PS version (PSE9). The profile of any hairy animal against the sky is going to present a fine but jaggy outline. The lasso either drapes across the hair tips or against the more solid body texture. Either result is undesirable if you are using the outline as the boundary of some other edit in your processing, typically to hide detail in the current layer to let a darker sky shine through. You end up with an unnatural black or white outline.

If you go large with this you will see what I'm talking about

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.