skelfs

By tfb

Old bike

I think I bought this bike in 1986 or 1987: it was my first really good touring bike. I rode it into the ground in the early 1990s, by which time I also knew I preferred proper road bikes (shorter frames are twitchy and fun to ride). I did it up in about 2001 as a hack bike but have not ridden it (well, once maybe) since then, until today. It has its proper quill stem and cantilever brakes but not, thankfully, the biopace chainset.

I don't know if I'm fooling myself (which means: probably I am) but it felt significantly harder to ride than a more recent aluminium bike I have with a similar geometry. Certainly it's heavier than the newer bike but I'm not sure the relatively small difference in weight really is noticable for someone who is not racing (not to mention I am probably overweight by more than the difference between them).

It will, however, outlast me I am sure which aluminium & carbon bikes probably will not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.