Mindseye

By Mindseye

Tiny Dancer

Slept fitfully, rather a warm night, woke at 4, then at regular intervals until I got up.

After a quick fruity breakfast I set about scrubbing the new patio area. We have realised that the large maple tree we love and left in the ground as a foil the summerhouse, expends a sticky sap during the summer months and with no rain to wash it away, the new indian stone was looking much darker and slightly sticky :-/

A bucket of hot water with mild bleach and soda crystals in it, brushed on hard with a yard brush, brought it up to its almost former glory.....boy was I hot by the time I'd finished and it wasnt even 10am.!

Its been a hot one today, 29 degrees this afternoon when our friends arrived. We havent seen them since New Year, they have been sheilding so have t ventured out much until recently. Barbara is a very young 80 in August and has her fingers crossed that her planned celebrations will be able to go ahead. We sat in the shade, distanced of course, drinking chilled water, the boys had a bottle of beer. We had a little High Tea, with lovely fruit scones topped with clotted cream and strawberries, yum! Two and half hours whizzed by and before we knew it it was time for them to head home to Cheshire.

I remained outdoors until 6.30, hub had gone in to watch the footy, My team were on again, I saw most of the game, a better performance and 3 good goals. I then joined my SW club on a Zoom meeting, another week where I have maintained.

Neither of us wanted much in the way of dinner tonight, still very warm. Hub has cheese & onion on toast, I had cold chicken & baby beetroots lol

I realised I didn't have a blip for today, caught the last light as the sun was going down in the garden. Our rambling rose 'Ballerina' is looking magnificent this year, still hundreds of tiny little rosebuds yet to open.

My friend has been on my mind a lot today :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.