Gunpowder Tower, Nijmegen

Not so late a start to the morning today, but took my time, nonetheless.  It is always a bit sluggish when AW is not at home, and yet that kind of day is always full.  If it's not housework, it's catching up on things like mail or repairing something, or ... a blip post.

In the afternoon, I went to Nijmegen, intending to shoot the 6-meter sculpture of a Roman mask on one of the islands there, but I could not find the connecting road or bridge, and ended up in the city centre where I found this tower in the park -- the Kruittoren (sounds like 'Krite Toren') or Gunpowder Tower, presumably where gunpowder was kept when it wasn't needed, and it doesn't look as though it has even been blown up.  The thing is ... I had forgotten that the viewer wasn't functioning.  Not to be dismayed, I took the picture anyway using the ocular viewer, but I wasn't sure I was doing it right.  Anxious to find out, and to have enough daylight over in case I had to take a replacement shot in the backyard, I hurried home.  The shot did turn out okay, although it could have been sharper.  I will return another time for the Roman mask sculpture.

I was more tired than I had imagined, but was feeling a bit better about things in general by the time I went to bed.  I've reached a point where I see myself in a certain way and if there are some who won't accept that, then that's that.  I have been largely by myself all these years, except for AW, and there are just some things I think need to remain true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.