"Flood!"

It's funny how our brains are wired. Every time I see this river - on any other - swollen like this, I can hear Andrew Eldritch shouting "Flood!". It's not even from a song that I particularly like! ('Flood II' on the excellent 'Floodland' by The Sisters Of Mercy'.)

And that in turn always makes me think of my friend Bill Dolan, who worked at Beggars Banquet in Kingston. In his bedroom, suspended from the ceiling, he had a cardboard cube, about twelve inches along each edge, that featured promotional shots of Eldritch and his bass player, Patricia Morrison. I was always rather envious of it.

Anyway, I took this photo this afternoon when Dan and I went for our walk. Today, we did our Casterton route. We usually walk back along the main road down to Devil's Bridge but the traffic has been getting progressively heavier to the point that last time we did it, I felt it was getting too dangerous, so today we walked back through High Casterton. It's odd how somethings feel like they're getting back to normal and in other respects normality seems such a long way off. 

****
-11.8 kgs
Reading: 'Circe' by Madeline Miller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.