Sixteen candles

Today is Abi's birthday party, which her sisters decided should be combined with the prom that the lockdown prevented her from enjoying. We were slightly over the permitted numbers - there would be eight of us - but as we were in the garden, we thought that would be OK.

And the Minx had done an amazing job of setting the garden for the prom, including a gazebo and bunting around the potting bar. Everything was perfect except the weather, which was windy with heavy rain and far from ideal for young ladies in frocks. 

In the end, after a family consultation, we decided that we'd have to move the party indoors, and just keep all the windows and doors open. (Plus, we put a lot of weight on the fact that from midnight it'll be OK to sit in a pub with a bunch of people you don't know, anyway.)

So, despite the weather, we had a great day, with lots of laughter and happiness: we haven't all been together for months! In eight years of blogging, I've never posted a photo that someone else took but I am breaking that rule, today, for my Extra, which one of my daughters took of me and Abi. 

And in the evening, we watched 'Hamilton'. Now, I'm not a fan of musicals at all but everyone else wanted to watch it, so I joined in despite noting that it was over two and a half hours long! But do you know what? I absolutely loved it. A perfect end to the day.

****
-11.3 kgs
Reading: 'Circe' by Madeline Miller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.