JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Favourite student

I don't have a favourite student. I have 114 students on the course I lead, and another 700+ in my Department and I've been teaching 17 years - not possible to choose one. Currently it's someone who 'buys in' to what we do and what we try to do on the course, and anyone who does that is just magic. And for sure, it's anyone who has gone on to do well after leaving. I have ex-students as staff, as colleagues, and ex-students working all over the world. Yes, in advertising and PR, but also in events, marketing, sales and social media. Some are in different areas completely. Still favourites.

Two colleagues took a group of students to Real Radio today and met two wonderful ex-students, Lynsey and Ashley - both doing remarkably well. Two other colleagues and I went to STV to meet Mark Pettit. Mark was one of our students four years ago, and nearing the end of course, I knew of a job coming up in Real Radio. He and four others presented to Real and Mark was offered a job. He finished the course then worked there for two years before moving on to STV, where he's in the digital side. So proud of him and of all our ex-students. One of them is PR for Blipfoto! They get everywhere.

And yesterday I started interviewing students for next session - love doing that, and we're already planning for next session. Favourite students? Not a get out, but you know what? All of them. Every single one, past, present, future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.