One of THOSE days

Some days you just know that you shouldn't have got out of bed. It went like this today.

Left home for university in blizzard conditions. Motorway was shocking, muppetry on the roads, particularly over Barton Bridge (which is a high bridge) in the high winds. Took over 90 minutes to do a 35 minute journey and typically I was getting quite agitated about being late.

I arrived to find that I was only the 6th person to get there and our lecturers were stuck in traffic.

My morning consisted of a lecture which was a 2 hour review of what we did last time. Doh.

Then an hour of fear instilling direction about the first assignment - when you are told that the introduction to the assignment should be between 500-800 words, then the realisation that your are going to be writing extensively suddenly hits home. The marking criteria are terrifying. I briefly thought "I'll be OK. I can write well". By the time I went for lunch, I decided to ignore the assignment for now. September deadline so there is time to get my head into it later.

Lunch.

Returned to lecture with a cup of tea in a cup with a lid on it. Got into a 'discussion' with an employee at the university who told me that I would have to walk back down two floors and put it in the bin. No drinks allowed past this point. WHAT?! I explained that in our lecture room there had been 3 flasks of coffee and tea, cups and saucers etc and that we had happily been glugging from those this morning. NO. You need to take it back downstairs and get rid of it. I told said person that was ridiculous and if I was going to get rid of it, she needed to direct me to a BIN on the same floor because I was damned if I was walking two flights of stairs when I was in pigging agony. She then opened the disabled toilet door and DIRECTED ME to pour my tea down the toilet. I am afraid that I did tell her that she was being ridiculous, particularly as the university had been providing us with refreshments all day to that point.

I was incensed 5 minutes later when our two lecturers walked in with cups of tea in the same cups - I flipped. To the point where one of the lecturers offered me their brew! I calmed down and said that wasnt really the point - that if there was a rule then it needed to be applied to everyone, not just us scruffy mature students!

More study, then left at 2.30 as the blizzard had re-descended and it looked pretty bad. Got home, it had turned to rain. Phew.

Went to bed at 3.15 and woke around 7pm. Am utterly exhausted. Am in pain. Am still very upset about TeaGate. NO ONE has ever made me dispose of a cup of tea before. Rules are rules. Fine. Apply them fairly.

On a positive note, confirmation of my attendance at BBC Sky at Night filming in a week.

No news on an operation date. Quelle surprise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.