Finally found the pileated!

I have been on the trail of the pileated woodpecker for some time now. It seems that everyone in the park knew it. Maybe it's my big lens that gives me away. Just yesterday I ran into John walking his two dogs and he said, "You should have been here yesterday. I saw the pileated woodpecker on a tree right by the trail. Down pretty low too." Well, I wasn't there yesterday, but that's the way it goes, I guess. All these sightings by people who aren't carrying a camera with a big lens. What a waste of an opportunity.

But today I was there, and when I drove into the parking lot, Ollie, one of the park caretakers (I must ask him what his title is), drove up in his little snowplow and stopped to tell me he had seen the pileated by the parking lot at the other entrance to the park. So guess where I headed and look what I got! Yay for helpful friends. Thanks, Ollie!

I also blipped an amorous buck chasing some does. I posted several pictures of the chase, along with some other shots taken along my "one street" today on my recently refurbished photo portfolio at SmugMug. Take a look if you have the time. They start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.