A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

All Washed Up

I felt a bit like that today.

I had my first go on the new electric bike last night. 

It is great fun to ride and certainly the electric assist is wonderful up hills, but it does take some getting used to.

All was well until I turned to come back up the hill to my gate. I was in a high gear and didn't have enough momentum to change down. Nor could I apply enough strength from my hips to pedal up the hill and get going again.

The motor does not cut in unless the pedals are turning, so both bike and I came to a standstill at an angle to the hill facing up the slope.

And it's quite heavy. So as it started to topple, I tried to steady myself, but the pain in my hip was such that I couldn't and so... 

I haven't fallen off a bike since I was a child. And then it was moving!

And so now I am stiffer in the hips than ever and will have to leave the bike for another day.

Maybe Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.