The Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital

The times I've walked past this building without a glance! Thank you Blip for making me look carefully.

In London, I was meeting friends at 12 for lunch and I had time to spare. I wandered from Euston towards St Pancras and saw a sign to the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Gallery, part of the Unison Trade Union Headquarters.

What a treasure. This hospital was founded in 1890 by Elizabeth Garrett Anderson who was the first woman to qualify as a doctor. It was originally The New Hospital for Women, staffed by women. She was an amazing character. I haven't learned how to do links from my iPad but she's well worth checking out.

And this tiny Gallery, in part of the original building on Euston Road is well worth a short stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.