Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Dean Village (The Lewis Man)

Spoiler Alert!

Had a few minutes to spare before hopping on my bus home and I thought I would check out the Dean Bridge. I've just finished Peter May's excellent book 'The Lewis Man' and a turning point in the story takes place on this bridge.

It was a bit of a Eureka moment in the book when you find out that 'The Dean' (the orphanage in the book)refers to the former incumbents of the Dean Gallery, and the railway bridge is the Dean Bridge.

This is now a main road through Edinburgh city, and from Wikipedia it was built as a road bridge. I was expecting to see an old iron railway bridge...I was a tad disappointed. But it's still a lovely spot.

We used to have a training centre at Bell's Brae in the Dean Village - a lovely spot to while away a week skiving from work!

Looking forward to reading Mr May's third book at some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.