Hail

I knew it was serious and I was in deep when we lost the cup final. 2-1 to United. I told my mum that I was going out for a walk and I'd be back soon, I just needed to calm down a bit. I was seven at the time. All forgotten of course a few days later when we beat that German side that no-one my age could pronounce let alone spell. The first European Cup. McDermott Smith Neal - although of course it was Keegan that got hacked down on his way to that third goal. Keegan, who then left for Hamburg and was replaced by the man who would become my absolute boyhood hero. His number on my shirt, his poster on my wall. I absolutely idolised Kenny Dalglish. Completely and utterly. What a team. What a team.

Cut to many years later...

Tonight? Aye, it weren't bad.

We Are Liverpool

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.