Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mellow

New leaves on the elder against the quick burst of sunshine at the end of the day.

The shot may be mellow, but the day has been far from that. With TallGirl confined to barracks with what we'll probably have to admit is flu, I headed in to do my morning lessons with the little kids at school. A hasty change from the planned program (lots of preparation... none of it done) to a fun restaurant game seemed to make them happy, even despite the magnet having disappeared from the end of my fishing rod for the fish (and chips) game. Some interesting pronunciations of the work 'fork' but I tried to gloss over that...

Back to tend to the sick and get lunch and then straight back in to translate song lyrics with the big kids. They seemed to enjoy 'Paradise' by Coldplay (their choice) though I'm not sure my interpretation of the lyrics was quite what they were expecting. Still, they do enough poetry in that school to have some awareness of symbolism so I'm sure they'll get it on the next listen... Next week's song will be 'Skyfall', voted for by a slim margin over a One Direction song (ok it was 17-1). If they're very lucky I'll remember to do some prep and download the video - which helpfully has the lyrics on screen so I won't have to write them out on the back of wallpaper again.

Later, TallGirl wanted to go find some medicine, so we headed into the pharmacy and received.... three lots of homeopathic medicines. Sigh. I didn't say anything in front of TallGirl since she didn't have a clue what shelf the lady was taking them off - I'm hoping that just taking some medicine will make her feel better. (And the paracetamol might help.)

Later still, CarbBoy was stunningly resistant to learning his poem for school - but came round in the end after realising finally that we weren't rising to the bait and were just in fact ignoring him. Now, with a movie cued up, some freshly made fudge cooling to perfection in the kitchen, and a glass of Cotes du Rhone shimmering in front of me... the evening is looking as though it might take a turn to mellowness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.