JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

#LinkedIn day

Quite apart from spreading the good news about positively defying the markets today, LinkedIn was busy marketing some more news. I received this letter from them - a personal thank-you (the pic's rubbish - done in speed without skill). I wasn't the only one of course - LinkedIn has 220million users and I'd be a bit needy if I was after a handwritten note. In any case, my name's John, so I receive a whole load of 'Dear John' notes.

The rest of this informed me I was among the 'top 1% of most viewed profiles on LinkedIn'. For a fleeting moment I was chuffed, in a 'me, really, you shouldn't have' way. I thought I'd barely rank in top 1% in Glasgow city-centre, let alone west of Scotland, the whole of Scotland or anything else. And it of course is not 'top 1% bestest people', it's not 'top 1% popular cool folk'. Just that my profile has been viewed a lot. That's going to happen with a number of connections and encouraging students to use it. And it's 2012 figures. And it's for sure LinkedIn has dormant users. And we can by cynical about LinkedIn being smart and making millions of users smile with this (my math is awesome, but even briefly, 1% of 200 million is still loads and loads.

The nice and clever aspect is to do it on the same day as the overall company good news, get it trending on Twitter and get people like me to write something like this. 'Just find a feeling, pass it on' sang The Coral in their jaunty optimistic singalong hit. That's what I've done. No cynicism from me, just recognition of a nice bit of company good news passed on nicely. Well played LinkedIn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.