JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

HMV Gift Card

Five minutes ago, clearing out a bag, I found this. Much has been written about HMV's demise, and I wouldn't add much to the debate. Suffice to say I was not a huge fan, labouring around it pre-Christmas for a gift for a relative for whom iTunes was anathema was never a pleasant experience. I am a fan of Fopp, which although owned by HMV, has more the feel of the record-store of my student days, when receipt of student grant meant a trip to a west-end record store for a collection of 45s and 33s by Glasgow-based jangly-guitar bands and sundry esoteric others. Such records are now in different form on my iPod or iPhone, while the round pieces of plastic with holes in the middle with arty covers hide in the dark recesses of the loft. Somewhere beside HMV, with non-digital defiance and queues, outdated business practices and non-accepted gift-cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.